Close this search box.
Close this search box.

Cross Country team runs steady at meet

Cross Country team runs steady at meet

Central Wyoming College cross country team went to Chadron, Neb., Sept. 12. at the Chadron State College three-way meet. The three schools competing were CSC, South Dakota School of Mines and CWC.

“It was a good meet last week; we got beat by South Dakota School of Mines by 54 points and this week at Chadron we lost by just ten points. That shows me we had a good improvement,” said Al Lara, cross country coach.

For the men’s division, Clay Johnson placed fourth with a time of 20:30 with teammate Brion Riley close behind with a time of 21:15; placing tenth. The men’s course was a 6k while the women’s course was a 4k.

The men’s team scores are Chadron State in the lead with 23 points followed by South Dakota School of Mines with 49 points and CWC 59 points.

“The team is learning on what it takes to get better. There are no short cuts in this sport, if it was easy everyone would be doing it,” Coach Lara said. “Again Clay Johnson was our top finisher with Brion Riley our next runner at 21:15. James Asmus from Evanston was our third runner; he keeps moving up each race. This will be a factor on our team come Regionals.”

In the women’s division Kate Kling led the Rustler team placing eighth with a time of 19:02 followed by teammate Kianna WollowingBull with a time of 20:09.

The women’s team scores are Chadron State in the lead with 19 points, South Dakota School of Mines with 36 points and CWC has a no score with only two women runner; five runners must compete to receive team scores.

Women’s Division

  1. Rebecca Volf CSC 14:55
  2. Adeline Straatmeyer SD 14:57
  3. Nickey Applegrath CSC 15:03
  4. Jamme Nunez CSC 15:13
  5. Alyse Henery CSC 15:14
  6. Margret Vinton CSC 15:43
  7. Libby Friesen SD 15:48
  8. Taylor Muncie SD 15:51
  9. Riley Sutton SD 15:58
  10. Karie Ratke SD 16:02
  11. Erica Westerman SD 16:04
  12. Sarah Townsend CSC 17:17
  13. Sandra Pelayo CSC 17:17
  14. Rachel Lovelace SD 17:22
  15. Brittance Wood SD 17:29
  16. Therese Frels SD 17:32
  17. Justine Stone CSC 18:17
  18. Taylor Allison CSC 18:33
  19. Kate Kling CWC 19:02
  20. Kianna WollowingBull CWC 20:09

Men’s Division

  1. Dylan Stansberry CSC 19:38
  2. Evans Koeck CSC 20:00
  3. Ashton Griessom SD 20:26
  4. Clay Johnson CWC 20:30
  5. Kyle Dietsche CSC 20:32
  6. Phillip Duncan CSC 20:36
  7. Dale Broek SD 20:48
  8. Jace Walker SD 20:54
  9. Eric Yager CSC 20:57
  10. Brion Reley CWC 21:15
  11. Henery Jackson CSC 21:26
  12. Taylor Dick CSC 21:32
  13. Levi Avila CSC 21:44
  14. Epi Nunez CSC 21:52
  15. Cole Jolovich SD 21:54
  16. Doug Harris CSC 22:03
  17. Zack Doffin CSC 22:16
  18. James Asmus CWC 22:21
  19. Christian Salzmen CWC 22:49
  20. Brytan Spoonhunter CWC 23:15
  21. Cameron Collamer CWC 23:21
  22. Justin Grode SD 23:32
  23. Daniel Primi CWC 25:06

The next meet is the Montana State University Billings invite Oct. 4.