Basketball team selected as Academic Team of Year

Basketball team selected as Academic Team of Year

Central Wyoming College’s women’s basketball team has been named the Academic Team of the Year by the National Junior College Athletic Association.

“The team registered the highest team grade point in the nation,” Coach Serol Stauffenberg said of his team’s 3.52 GPA. The CWC women’s volleyball team, coached by Tiffany Stauffenberg, also qualified for the award with a team GPA of 3.27.

Several CWC athletes received individual academic achievement awards from the NJCAA, including Kali Howe, a Rock Springs volleyball player with a 4.0 GPA. A photo of Howe, who was presented a Pinnacle Award and the women’s basketball team picture, will appear in the next issue of the NJCAA Review.

The organization recognized Abigail Ehlers of Evanston and Kaitlyn Tracy Eaton of Syracuse, Utah with the Superior Award. Ehlers played both volleyball and basketball for the Rustlers and Tracy was on the volleyball team.

Exemplary awards went to basketball players Shay Cooper of Riverton, Elise Keller of Preston, Idaho and Kaylee Walker of Perry, Utah.

Other players on the women’s basketball team contributing to the academic honor are Abbey Wilson, Emily Smith, Tina Hosea, Lauren Bond, Marissa Hogan, Porsha Wadsworth, Samantha Hart and Stephanie Smith.

The minimum grade point average to be considered for the team award by the NJCAA is 3.0.

2012-2013 NJCAA Academic Student-Athlete Awards

2012-2013 NJCAA All-Academic Teams

Consistent with its mission to value diversity and to treat all individuals with dignity and respect, Central Wyoming College does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, ancestry, sex, age, religion, or disability in admission or access to, or treatment or employment in its educational program services or activities. The college makes reasonable accommodations to serve students with special needs and offers services to students who have the ability to benefit.
©2010 Central Wyoming College - All Rights Reserved