Skip to main content

Large cast selected to produce The Music Man at CWC

January 1, 2014

A large cast of college and community actors are rehearsing for the upcoming Central Wyoming College spring musical The Music Man.

Director Mike Myers has more than 50 actors preparing for the production and he is still looking for youngsters, ages 8-15, who can play in the show’s marching band. The show opens at 7:30 p.m. on Friday, Feb. 28 in the Robert A. Peck Arts Center Theatre. There are 2:30 p.m. matinees on both Saturday and Sunday, March 1 and 2, and a 7:30 p.m. performance on March 1.

Playing the lead roles are Josiah Sifuentes and Marissa Selvig. Sifuentes, who has been in multiple CWC productions, is Harold Hill, a loveable con man intending to cheat a community with his standard scam of offering to equip and train a boys’ marching band. Instead of skipping town with the money, he falls for librarian Marian Paroo, played by Selvig, a community actor with a degree in theater.

Hill helps Marian’s little brother, Winthrop, who is played by Riverton youngster Parker Donaldson. Their mother is Kyriessa Lane, a first-year CWC student from Colorado Springs.

Other central characters are Charlie Cowell, a rival salesman who tips off the authorities about Harold, played by Aaron King; Mayor Shinn, played by Percy Claar; and his wife and daughters, played by Taylar Stagner, Anika Greenhalgh and Elliot Stafford. Seth Siebersma is the town bad boy Tommy Djilas, Patrick Bergin is Harold’s friend Marcellus, and Gary Foster is the town sheriff.

The roles of the traveling salesman are played by Siebersma, Than Esposito, Gary Foster, Scott Jorgenson, Leo Kosirog, Laurence Miles, Phil Rector, Bart Ringer and Chuck Rodgers. The “Pick-a-little Ladies” are Tara Collins, Katie Thorne, Annie Phister and Rachael Rowan. The Quartet includes Nathaniel Esposito, Chuck Rodgers, Leo Kosirog and Roger Hicks. Carly Thornton plays a piano student of Marian and the conductor is Tim Buhmann.

The dancers are Braidy Amman, Aubrey Ducharme, Anika Greenhalgh, Kaila Heisteuman, Abigail Larson, Amy McGowan, Elliott Stafford, Skie Stover, Nick Fenton, Jodeyah Mills, Seth Siebersma and Joseph Thornton.

The townspeople of River City are Megan Beasle, Dawn Bennett, Elissa Burleson, Jodi Heisteuman, Scott Jorgenson, Gloria Leadbetter, Shannon Linch, Brittany Mack, Laurence Miles, Jennifer Neely, Phil Rector, Bart Ringer, Katie Wagner, Misty Waters and Sarah Widdoss.

Myers is assisted in this production by choreographer Allison Steele, musical director Robert Hussa, technical director Chontelle Gray and set builder Alex Henderson.

The Boys’ Band now includes Joseph Thornton, Nick Fenton, Jodeyah Mills and Jacob Neely. Any other interested band students should call Myers at 855-2217.